Happiness has a prize

If you're happy and you know it, clap your hands!

Or better yet, nominate yourself in the Search for the Happiness Pinoy 2012. 

If you have a constantly cheerful face and optimistic outlook, proven ability to rise above life’s challenges and have a positive impact in the lives of others, you may just come home a quarter of a million pesos richer.

See? happiness has a prize.

After a successul search around the 7,100 Philippine islands (on high tide, maybe less since portions of the country is constantly underwater) in 2009 and crowning Winston Maxino as the winner for his optimism, resilience in times of strife and inspiration to others, Cebuana Lhuillier Insurance Solutions is searching for the next happiest Pinoy.

On that criteria, we should all be named the winners. Pinoys are perennially happy no matter what. For example.....

Now, match a description to a photo:

1.  Collagen-lips happy: beso-beso, tsup-tsup.
2.  Happy Angry bird: more than just a facial expression.
3.  Noontime show happy: peg- Eat Bulaga.
4.  "You, talagaaah" happy: pa-cutie look & reply to a compliment.
5.  Siquijor happy: your image is inverted in their pupils & you know what comes next.
6.  Showbiz happy: charming in front of cam, suplado sa personal.
7.  Gucci-gang happy: drug-induced look of joy.
8.  Happy meal: busog, tulog.
9.  Wacky happy: photo required right after proper one.
10.Happy Po: pa-demure, pa-shy with Ate Guy shoulder shrug.
11.Elmer's happy : as in glue= dikit (Tagalog)= pilit (Visayan)=pilit (tagalog, as in forced).

Hands down, this lady is the happiest person in the room. I will nominate her to this search and I know she'll bag the prize. She is happiness personified.

Can anyone be happier?

Seen here: I just asked if I can take her photo.... and voila! Happiness!

The search is over!

But the organizers want another winner.

This search is open to any Filipino of legal age, good moral character and residing in the Philippines. Anyone of legal age, group or organization registered by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) may nominate. 

Nominations are accepted from October 21, 2011 to May 30, 2012 (on-line nomination forms and upload entries to www.happiest-pinoy.com). Accomplished forms can be sent Cebuana Lhuillier Insurance Solutions (CLIS) Head Office, 821 A. Spring corner J.P. Rizal Streets, Makati City.

All nominations will pass through a Screening Committee composed of PJ Lhuillier Group Officers/Managers. The entries of Top 20 Semi-Finalists will be forwarded to the Board of Judges who will select and interview the Top 10 Finalists.

The names of Top 10 Finalists will be announced in the Philippine Daily Inquirer and BusinessMirror until the “Happiest Pinoy” is named by the Board of Judges on or before June 30, 2012.


1. Ms Carmencita T. Abella, President/CEO, Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF)
2. Bro. Armin Luistro FSC, Secretary, Department of Education, Culture, and Sports (DECS)
3. Mr Jose Miguel G. Jimenez, Chief Administrative Officer, PJLI Group of Companies (PJLI)
4. Mr Winston A. Maxino, 2010 Happiest Pinoy, General Manager, Green Earth Power and Energy Corporation
5. Mr Efren Penaflorida, 2009 CNN Hero of the Year
6. Dr Leticia Ramos-Shahani, President, Brahma Kumaris Foundation Philippines, former Senator/Ambassador
7. Ms Mel C. Tiangco, Chief Operating Officer, GMA 7 Kapuso Foundation, Inc.
8. Dr Bernardo Villegas, Senior Vice President, University of the Asia and the Pacific (UA&P)
9. Mr Miguel F. Zubiri, Govermor, Philippine National Red Cross (PNRC), former Senator

All cash prizes are tax-free : “Happiest Pinoy” Winner- P 250,000.00 + Trophy; and Nine (9) Runners-Up : P 25,000.00 each + Trophy. 

Not mentioned if the trophy is taxable.

But the golden apple I'm adding to the top prize in not.

So, if you're happy and you know it, raise your hands!