DCCCII 50th Anniversary Gala

In black tie and evening gowns, Davao’s Davao leading businessmen, traders, industrialists and agriculturists, local government officials and foreign dignitaries had a good reason to dress up and celebrate. Davao City Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Inc. (DCCCII) was celebrating a milestone. It’s the chamber’s 50thyear anniversary this year and Art Millan, the current president, welcomed everyone to the grand affair.


DCCCII’s 50th anniversary gala’s Rigodon de Honor


Back in the 60’s when Davao was turning into a progressive city, a group of young businessmen came up with and idea of organizing an active and dynamic business organization. In 1968, the vision materialized and a Security and Exchange Commission-registered DCCCII was founded. It was the birth of “the sole and the strongest voice of the business community in Davao City.”


Consul General of PRC Davao Li Lin, AmCham Mindanao Nonoy Villa Abrille, DCCCI Past President Angie Angliongto, Simeon Marfori & DCCCII past president & founding member Joe Custodio

The chamber’s pioneering group was composed of 61 all-Filipino businessmen and installed its first officers: Ramon A. Tirol, President; Leon M. Garcia, Jr., Vice-President; Honesto A. Cabarroguis, Secretary; Jose C. Sevilla, Treasurer; Jose B. Custodio, PRO; and Directors Juan Bosquit, Honorio S. Hilario, Edmundo N. Madrazo and Rodolfo P. del Rosario. It was during the same night’s induction that DCCCII’s Charter of Affiliation was presented to the CCP.


DCCCII current officers- Art Millan, President; Yvonne Cabada, EVP; & Tony dela Cruz, Board Chairman


Today, the chamber’s membership has grown to about 300 businessmen and firms, and its role in shaping the city’s economic landscape is more crucial now than ever.


Department of Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez III with Alegria Limjuco of PCCI & Rose Ong, PRA President


Present at the 50thanniversary gala were Department of Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez III, Davao City politicians, the presidents of the country’s various chambers of commerce, consular officers, DCCCII’s council of past presidents, current officers and members.


DCCCII past presidents- Ronnie Go & Joji Ilagan-Bian

Dennis Uy, Che Uy & Anton Lopez

Tom Monteverde, DCCCII Past president Malou Monteverde & Cary Lagdameo

Jason Magnaye, PCCC President George Barcelon, DTI Asst. RD Antonio dela Cruz & DTI RD Belle Ambi

John Tria & Leo Dominguez

Bobby Orig, Councilor Mabel Sunga, JCCM President Ichido Miyake & Rey Acosta


Enzo Villafuerte, Councilor Joselle Villafuerte, Cherry Al-ag & Vice-Mayor Bernard Al-ag

Lemuel Ortonio, OIC DCIPC; Maan Doromal; City Tourism Officer GeneRose Tecson; Lisette Marques, & Tomoko Dodo

Davao’s young entreprenuers Nikki Hao-Bian, Jennifer Dumlao, Josef Ledesma & Marlon Rebaya

Aldwin Dumago, Jade Gamas, Ones Almario, Roman Azanza, Jay Fernandez from Apo Agua Infrastructura


Also published in the SunStar Davao newspaper.

For travel stories, visit jeepneyjinggoy.com.
Email me at jinggoysalvador@yahoo.com